Paying for international subscriptions, shopping on foreign websites, or accessing other services billed in dollars has gotten much easier thanks to virtual dollar cards. But every card comes with its fees; choosing the wrong one and switching later means a new set of card fees. So, before you commit to one, it’s worth taking the time to compare your options.
Pouchers is a fintech platform that offers virtual dollar cards through its multicurrency wallet, while ALAT by Wema Bank provides one through its banking app. Pouchers suits online spenders looking to avoid annual card fees, while the ALAT virtual dollar card may appeal to you if you prefer managing your dollar card through your existing Wema banking app.
This article puts Pouchers and ALAT side-by-side, from fees to features to decide the better fit.
Pouchers vs ALAT Virtual Dollar Card: Side-by-Side Comparison
The cost of a virtual dollar card goes beyond the creation fee. Annual charges, funding costs, and foreign transaction fees can all affect how much you spend.
Here’s how Pouchers and ALAT compare:
| Fee Type | Pouchers | ALAT |
| Card creation fee | $2 Standard / $5 Premium (one-time) | $3 |
| Annual card fee | None | $10 |
| Monthly card maintenance fee | None | No separate monthly fee listed; $10 annual maintenance charge |
| Funding fee | Free | $25 |
| Cross-border/FX fee | 2.5% + $0.50 on eligible transactions | Depends on transaction amount; higher amounts attract higher fees |
| Declined/insufficient balance fee | $0.50 | Not disclosed |
| First-year card fees (excluding funding) | $2 Standard / $5 Premium | $13, including card and annual fees |
| Maximum card balance | $20,000 | $10,000 |
| Card network | Visa or Mastercard | Mastercard Gold USD, Visa Gold USD, Visa Platinum USD, or Visa Signature USD |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | Yes, Premium only | Yes |
| In-store payments | Yes, Premium only | Not advertised |
| Card reissue fee | Not specified | $3 |
| Spending limits | Subject to Pouchers’ card limits | Customers can define their spending limits |
| Card validity | 3 years | 3 years |
1. Card Creation Fees
Pouchers virtual dollar cards are available in two options: Standard for a one-time fee of $2 and Premium for $5. ALAT charges $3 to issue its card, so the upfront costs are close. However, the cost of creating a Pouchers Standard is very low, as it enables you to make international payments wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted.
[Download the Pouchers app to get your virtual dollar card]
Pouchers Standard Virtual Dollar Card

Pouchers Premium Dollar Card

2. Monthly or Recurring Fees
Beyond the initial cost, recurring charges also affect the total cost of keeping a card. Neither Pouchers Standard nor Premium has a monthly maintenance fee or annual card fee, while ALAT charges a $10 annual fee.
With its $3 card issuance fee, ALAT’s first-year card fees total $13, compared with just $2 for Pouchers Standard. That’s an $11 difference in first-year card fees. Wema Bank also lists a $0.225 VAT charge for the Visa Signature card.
3. Funding Fees and Exchange Rate
Funding costs also matter when comparing the cards. Pouchers charges no fees for card top-ups or withdrawals to your naira wallet. You can also check the applicable exchange rate in the app before confirming a top-up.
On the other hand, ALAT charges a $25 funding fee, so you may want to consider how often you fund your card.
4. Foreign Transaction Fees
Once you start making international payments, foreign transaction fees can add to your costs. For example, on a $1,000 eligible transaction, Pouchers charges $25.50 in fees. With ALAT, the FX fee depends on the transaction amount, with higher amounts attracting higher fees.
5. Spending Limits and Card Features

The two virtual dollar cards differ in their limits and payment features. Pouchers supports a maximum card balance of $20,000 and up to $2,000 per top-up. Users can choose Visa or Mastercard, while Premium also supports Apple Pay, Google Pay, and in-store payments.
On the other hand, the ALAT virtual dollar card offering includes four foreign-denominated card variants: Mastercard Gold USD, Visa Gold USD, Visa Platinum USD, and Visa Signature USD. It has a maximum card balance of $10,000, but customers can define their spending limits. ALAT also supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, but charges $3 for card reissue.
What a $1,000 Budget Actually Gets You: Pouchers vs ALAT
If you have a total budget of $1,000 to create and fund a virtual dollar card for international payments, how much will remain available to spend after card fees?
The table below compares the first-year card fees and funding costs, showing how much of your $1,000 budget remains before foreign transaction fees.
| Cost | Pouchers | ALAT |
| Total budget | $1,000 | $1,000 |
| Card creation fee | $2 | $3 |
| Annual card fee | $0 | $10 |
| Funding fee | $0 | $25 |
| Total first-year card and funding fees | $2 | $38 |
| Budget remaining after these fees | $998 | $962 |
Based on these fees, Pouchers leaves you with $998, compared with $962 for ALAT. Pouchers also offers free top-ups, while ALAT’s $25 funding fee makes the amount remaining after funding lower. Your final spending balance may also vary depending on the applicable exchange rate and transaction fees.
Which Card Is Better for Everyday Online Payments in Nigeria?
The choice between Pouchers and the ALAT virtual dollar card depends on the payment features and fees that matter most to you.
Choose Pouchers If You Want a Card Without Monthly Maintenance Fees
Pouchers Standard and Premium have no monthly maintenance fees or annual card fees. This makes them suitable if you want a no-monthly-fee virtual card to pay for your international subscriptions. In contrast, the ALAT virtual dollar card charges a $10 annual fee.
Choose Pouchers If You Want Free Funding and Withdrawals
Pouchers charges no card top-up fees and allows free withdrawals from your card to your Naira wallet. This means you can fund your Pouchers virtual card and withdraw your remaining balance without extra fees, whereas the ALAT virtual dollar card charges a $25 funding fee.
Pouchers Premium Has the Edge If You Want Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Contactless Payments
Pouchers Premium supports Apple Pay, Google Pay, and contactless in-store payments. You can use it for online purchases and subscriptions, then add it to a supported digital wallet for in-store payments.
Choose ALAT If You Prefer Managing Your Dollar Card Through Your Existing Bank
The ALAT virtual card Nigeria option may suit you if you already use ALAT and prefer managing your dollar card through your existing banking app. However, you should factor in its $10 annual fee and $25 funding fee when comparing costs.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Is ALAT virtual dollar card still working?
Yes, the ALAT virtual dollar card is available for international online payments.
2. Can I use the ALAT virtual dollar card for international payments?
Yes, the ALAT virtual dollar card is designed for international online payments, including eligible purchases and subscriptions. Your transactions may depend on your available balance, applicable fees, and the merchant’s payment policies.
3. Which card is better for subscriptions and online shopping in Nigeria?
Pouchers is the better choice for subscriptions and online shopping in Nigeria, with Standard cards starting at just $2, no annual card fees, free top-ups, and free withdrawals to your Naira wallet.
4. Does Pouchers charge a monthly maintenance fee?
No. Pouchers Standard and Premium cards have no monthly maintenance fee or annual card fee.
Conclusion
Both Pouchers and the ALAT virtual dollar card support eligible international payments, but their fees and features differ. ALAT may suit users who prefer managing their card through their existing bank, while Pouchers offers free top-ups, free withdrawals to your Naira wallet, no annual card fees, and a choice of Visa or Mastercard. Compare the total costs and features to find the best virtual dollar card in Nigeria for your needs.